The Mindset Makeover

Published December 31, 2011 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Prevention magazine just posted an article on my Facebook called 17 Ways Exercise Sends Health Soaring.  I really liked it.  It gave me a different way of looking at why I should work out.  I am an instant gratification kind of girl so I need more of a reason to workout then losing weight.  I need something that I’m going to get right away.  So, I thought they were worth mentioning.

  1. Be happier at work -Research shows that exercise will help you to think more clearly, get more done and interact better with your work associates
  2. Improve your vocabulary-Working out can aid in brain function helping you to learn faster than those who don’t get any exercise at all
  3. Get natural pain relief-Exercise can relieve pain in your back and joints
  4. Feel sexy at any size-Simple working out can improve a person’s body image
  5. Lower dental bills-30 minutes 5 days a week will lower your risk for periodontitis
  6. Unlock hidden energy-Moving your body will increase energy and thwart off fatigue better than coffee
  7. Shrinks stress fat-Exercise helps to reduce belly fat
  8. Slash cold risk by 33%-regular exercise will boost the immune system
  9. Improve vision-Carrots aren’t the only way to help reduce the risk of macular degeneration
  10. Reach the deep sleep zone-Working out will greatly improve sleep
  11. Never get diabetes-Exercise helps in releasing insulin and control blood sugar
  12. Eliminate belly bloat-Physical activity help relieve gas and bloating
  13. Clear out brain fog-Studies show that working out will reduce your risk of getting Alzheimer and increase brain function in younger people
  14. Save your heart-Exercise lowers the risk of heart disease
  15. Add years to your life-Being physically fit will help you to live a longer life
  16. Erase your ailments-working out will reduce stress related ailments as well as physical (back and joint pain) ailments
  17. Survive breast cancer-Physical activity can reduce your risk of breast cancer and raise your risk of survival

The above mentioned are some really good reasons for me to find 30 minutes a day to work out.  There are so many reasons to get physically fit, losing weight is a minor one and wasn’t even mentioned on the list.  I am going to make it a priority to fit in at least 3 hours of physical activity a week.  🙂  Wish me luck.  I know it’s all a mental game and I am ready to put my game face on.

Please click the link below for the complete article The Mindset Makeover

http://online.prevention.com/17waysexercisesoars/index.shtml

Leave a Reply

