Late Night Eating.. I Got This!

Published January 4, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I am on a mission to conquer my night-time eating problem.  If I cannot conquer it, I at least want to find the best way to handle it.  That way I don’t undo a good day.  I live with all boys.  My husband and my three sons.  They all snack in the evening after dinner.  It is nearly impossible for me to sit and watch everyone walk into the kitchen, make themselves a snack, and plop down on the couch in front of the television, without finding myself right in there with them.

I have to admit I am pretty unsuccessful in this area of my life.  Something tells me that instead of trying to stop all together, maybe I should eat dinner a little later and pencil in a nutritious snack before bed.  That way I will be allowing myself the calories.  Not adding them to my bottom line.  No pun intended.  Hahaha

Just as I thought.  After reading a few articles I have found that once again, if I am prepared to snack in the evening,  I will do it more responsibly.  So, I guess I am going to save around 200 calories for my night-time snack.  However, I am going to try to make my snack something higher in protein, than sugar if possible.

Tonight I think I will make some caulifries!!

2 comments on “Late Night Eating.. I Got This!

  • I read this today on the Livestrong website…

    The period of time between dinner and bedtime is the danger zone for many. It’s the time of day you get to relax, and many people reach for a favorite snack to enhance the simple pleasure of doing nothing. It depends on what you consider bad for you it’s the quantity or quality of food that matters more than what time you eat it, but in some cases, time matters.

    Weight Gain:
    The biggest myth surrounding nighttime eating is that eating too close to bedtime makes you gain weight. This is not true. Eating more calories than you burn makes you gain weight, whether you eat them early or late. Of course, many people who snack before bed choose high-calorie foods such as ice cream or potato chips, but it’s the calorie content of these foods, not the time they were eaten, that causes weight gain. As long as your daily calorie count is right for your size, age and activity level, you can go to bed immediately after eating without gaining weight. However, that’s not to say that late-night eating doesn’t cause any problems at all.

    Don’t eat after 7pm cause by that time you will have already consumed all the calories needed by having your three meals and two snacks. Anything after will become a surplus and show up as weight gain..

  • Leave a Reply

