Reading Diet Rehab by Dr. Mike Dow

Published February 13, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

So I started a knew book today.  It’s called Diet Rehab.  So far I have learned why I find eating so pleasurable.  How funny is it that this whole thing I do with food has to do with the levels of serotonin and dopamine levels in my brain.  I always new there was an addicting factor going on but I didn’t know what it was.  In the book the doctor mentions that it takes two days for the brain to go back to normal after doing cocaine and two weeks for the brain to go back to normal after eating high fat and sugary foods.  On one had the fat give the feeling of excitement while sugar gives the feeling of contentment which I am always after.  I never knew I was getting it from sugar before.  I actually would have thought it would have been the other way around.

So far I have leaned that I have to feed my brain with activities that will raise the serotonin and dopamine levels without using food.  I am only a few pages in, reading the chapter “understanding food addiction”  I am going to be taking notes throughout, so I can be sure to do this right.  I am going to successfully kick this addiction in 28 days.  I already know how to eat properly now I am going to fix my brain.

Leave a Reply

