What’s Your Story?

Published April 4, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I have missed you all.  Over the weekend my husband and I went to Burlington Vermont for a little get a way.  Just the two of us.  There is a street that is completely closed off to traffic with quaint little shops lining both sides of the street.  People were everywhere.  We found out later that Obama was in town.  It was completely amazing.  So amazing, in fact, it made Monday  a little painful.  We walked the streets, went out to eat, and finished off our trip with a stop at Ben & Jerry’s.  We really must do that more often.

On another note.  Monday was week two of Oprah’s Life Class.  This week she had Tony Robbins.  He taught us how to change our state from depressed or sad to powerful and strong.  He also touched on how to “change our story”  I have since done just that.  My old story had me stuck in the same situation over and over again.  I now know that even though my story may have been true “to me” it can be changed very easily and with a little thought.  My old story was, “Hi, I am Michele, I have struggled my entire life with my weight.  I have tried literally everything to get rid of it, however I have lost and gained more than a human person over the course of my life.  I will struggle with this for the rest of my life.  My biggest fear is to become so over weight that I will be unable to function as a normal person.”  I am naming this girl Miserable Michele

My new story, “Hi, I’m Michele, I am a viable worthy woman.  I live and eat to feed the clarity of my mind and soul.  I care about the function of all of my organs and I wish only to feed those organs the cleanest of foods.  I love me, therefore will treat me with the same love and understanding I deserve.  I feel good and I am healthy.”  I call this girl “Queen Michele”

I realize that my new story is going to be something I am going to have to work hard to implement.   Because, I have known doubt my old story is going to try hard to creep back in.  I have to diligent against it.  I do not want to feed it and make it strong anymore.  Wish me luck.  Next week Bishop T.D. Jakes is co-hosting Oprah’s Life Class.  Love it!

One comment on “What’s Your Story?

Leave a Reply

