It’s Time to Step it Up

Published April 24, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Having my morning coffee and watching Oprah’s Life Class that I DVR’d from last night.  Today’s lesson is how to become more spiritual.  Oprah explains that we are all spiritual beings having a human experience.  That statement is so profound.  We all have an energy that we put out.  If we put out negative energy we get negative energy back.  If we want to be happy, make someone else happy.

Oprah’s life teacher this week was Depak Copra, he is a spiritual leader, who had several really simple tricks to change our thought patterns.  Most of us are unaware that the story we carry around for ourselves is the reason our lives are what they are today.  It takes practice but that story can be changed.  Since my “Aha” moment which was that I was going to be happy in the NOW.  I am going to enjoy this minute right here right now instead of thinking ahead at what might happen.  When I first started.  I would chase away the negative thoughts, but there was this little voice all the way in the back that would pop up here and there.  I believe this little voice as my conscious instead of my super conscious.  It would say “sure go ahead be happy now, but you know catastrophe is around the corner”.  One day while I was driving I heard it loud and clear in an almost sarcastic way.  “Yea, you are so happy now, but you could drive of the side of the road and die right now”  It was almost comical.  I thought oh my God, am I crazy or something?  Where in the world did that come from and why was it there?  Turns out that once I called that “little voice” out as being a totally ridiculous, useless thought, it went away.  I remember telling my mother about it and she said “well it’s true, you could drive off the road and die.  That’s why you have to live every day to its fullest because you never know when it will be taken away.

I feel completely liberated from worry in my life now.  I am thankful to be 44 years old.  This is the best time in my life.  I have never felt so good about myself and my ability to add substance to another person’s life.  Today I hand in my application to volunteer at the nursing home here in town.  I am ready to step it up.  I only hope to make the residence feel good about there lives.

2 comments on “It’s Time to Step it Up

  • “we are all spiritual beings having a human experience.” It is the truth as well as being profound. It is the ‘secret’ to what life is all about. Bringing spirit down into matter. Heaven down to Earth. And why our bodies are truly the temples for the Divine.

  • Leave a Reply

