Become Selfless for Selfish Reasons

Published May 14, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Sometimes I look around at the people who God has given me in my life and wonder what the lesson is.  I myself am a very giving person.  I mean, I don’t have a lot, but sometimes it doesn’t take much to make a difference in someone’s life.  It puzzles me that I have people in my life that are very ungiving to the point of selfishness.  It’s hard for me to understand since giving to others makes me feel so good inside.  I guess I don’t understand how anyone would not want to experience the wholeness and love I feel from giving.  I know that everyone in our lives is a lesson in some way.

I actually don’t see a lot of people in my daily life.  I work in an office almost fifty hours a week and come home to see my family.  Essentially my work mates and my family are who I come into contact with throughout my week.  I have wondered many times how I can make a difference with my schedule.  Then it came to me.  If we all make a difference within our circle of people. it will surely make a difference in the world.  This week I am challenging myself and everyone who reads this to give selflessly to at least one person within our circle.  It doesn’t have to be monetary.  It can be something as simple as a kind word, or a hug.  Find a way to lift someone’s spirits and enjoy the way you feel after doing that.  I would love to hear from anyone out there that gives of themselves in some way.

One comment on “Become Selfless for Selfish Reasons

Leave a Reply

