Feeling Sorry for Myself

Published September 3, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I am feeling a little down today.  I guess it’s time for a little pep talk to myself.  I feel like I have no life.  All I do is work.  On my off time I do nothing.  However, I cannot think of anything that I want to do, either.  I feel completely unfulfilled.  I feel like I should have a purpose for my life, but I don’t.

I know I am blessed.  I have a husband that loves me dearly.  I have great kids that are respectful of their parents.  I have a place to call home.  A place where I feel completely safe and content.  I have a job that I love (most of the time).  I am grateful of all of these things.  So why do I feel so blahhhh?

I guess I have to ask:  “what do I have to look forward to”?  Let’s see.  Today I get to go to work until probably 6 o’clock.  Then I get to come home and watch TV until I go to bed.  So I can get up tomorrow and do it all over again.  Sound exciting, right?  I know I’m excited.

I have to wonder if my purpose is something really small and meaningless.  Maybe my purpose is to make minimal amount of money, and live paycheck to paycheck.  Maybe I am not meant to do anything great or exciting.

This little pep talk has made me feel worse.  Guess I’ll just go to work.

8 comments on “Feeling Sorry for Myself

  • Your purpose may be small but certainly not meaningless! My Mom goes through this often. She feels like she should be doing something more than what she’s doing but then she also doesn’t want to. Her problem is she gets all caught up in what friends her age are doing and a lot of them are on the go and busy every second of every day. I remind Mom that while that’s great for her friends, she’d be miserable being that busy all the time. I think it’s all part of finding a balance and deciding what YOU want. Do you want to be busy or do you feel you should be busy b/c others around you are? What’s something you truly enjoy? Make time for that! You blog and that’s important! I went through something like this recently. I started crocheting again, I started a book page on Facebook, I started writing/blogging again. Somehow, somewhere I sort of lost myself in trying to figure out what I should be doing instead of doing the things I already enjoyed. Sometimes we just need to stop thinking so much and just DO. Good luck!

  • You need to begin by changing things in your life. As they say if you do things the same way you shouldn’t be suprised when the results are the same. Become a positive thinker, be confident and try new things and you will find all sorts of good possibilities presenting themselves.

  • Leave a Reply

