Take your life back

Published September 24, 2012 by Stuff My Brain Thinks
So this morning while having my coffee and browsing face book, I came across a status of an acquaintance.  I think we may have met twice while Roger was playing out regularly.  I feel compelled to respond to her status.  Even though I really don’t know her well enough to say anything at all.  All I want to tell her is it’s ok if you made a mistake.  We all make them.  God loves us, imperfections and all.  You are never alone.  There is a higher being there to guide your every step, if we allow it.  We may get off track but as long as we life and learn we’ll get back on track  I am not an overly religious person.  I consider myself more spiritual than I do religious.  However, I do believe there is a reason we are all here.
 
Her post:  another rough night.. why can’t I just put this behind me :/ it’s been 7 months and I still cry myself to sleep.. I wish I could just go back to that horrible day, when I lost half of my soul, most of my friends, and all of my dignity.. I want to stand up for myself, but I am just not strong enough.
 
That post tugs at my heart.  I wish her to know that her life matters.  She matters.  And She IS strong enough.  Stand up, shake it off, and make today matter.  
 
What can I say?  I am not a spiritual leader.  But if she would Dvr Joel Osteen and watch, she would find that there IS hope and it is within us all.  You cannot see opportunity if you are so wound up, focusing on the past or stressing over the future.  I will never forget the day my mother called me and demanded that I watch and call her when it was done.  I was in a deep dark depression.  I spent most of my time in bed with the most horrible thought about my life, but when it was over I felt like the life was breathed back into me.  He saved me from myself at a point in my life.  
6 comments on “Take your life back

  • Had a similar experience last night when an acquaintance on FB posted a status about how he was feeling alone and sad, didn’t know why and was ready to “say goodbye.” I never comment on anything he posts but felt compelled to last night. It saddens me when people feel this way. I mean I’ve been there so many times myself and while WE know there is reason to go on not everyone else does and it’s hard to help them understand that. “Don’t give up” sounds so cliche’ but it’s often times as simple as that. One day at a time, get through the best you can and KEEP getting through every single day. I’m not a very religious person but I absolutely believe in God. I can’t look at my daughter or gaze out the window and claim there is no God. He’s around us all the time, living in us, carrying us when we need to be carried and I hope your friend can realize she’s not alone. She hasn’t lost her soul. We are souls w/ bodies, not the other way around. People tend to forget that. Maybe it was meant to be for you to see her status? Probably so. You can offer her strength where she’s lacking and you can encourage her.

  • we’re all spiritual healers – some people use their gifts & others do not.
    leave her a comment. we rarely know how kind words affect people. you are seeing an opportunity to turn her thoughts around (healer) – the worse that can happen is she will know someone cares.
    😉
    namaste,
    laurie

  • Leave a Reply

