How Important is Your Sleep?

Published April 30, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

a-fast-acting-antidepressant_1Sleep!  One of the most important aspects  of staying balanced mentally, physically and spiritually.  How many times have we talked to people who actually brag about getting very little sleep?  And how well they handle life being nearly sleep deprived?  If improving your quality of life is important to you, getting the right amount of sleep needs to be a priority.

In my life I have several of these pioneer’s of the sleepless,who claim sleep to be completely overrated.  I have to laugh, quietly of course, because although they may think they are getting more done and handling things amazingly well, it is apparent to everyone around them that with their snappy attitude and inability to truly focus on the task at hand that they are not coping as well as they may think.

In order to stay clear and focused and to keep our emotions on an even playing field we must be sure to get at least eight hours a sleep .  I am very regimented with my sleep schedule.  I am very careful not to eat or drink anything that may inhibit my sleep patterns.  I also do not workout in the evening as this too may cause my adrenalin to spike, and make it more difficult to get a full eight hours of uninterrupted sleep.images (2)

Mornings are very important to me, it is the best time to workout and meditate.  I live by the adage “early to bed, early to rise”.  In bed by 8:30 pm and up by 4:30 am to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the morning.  Mornings are fresh, new and full of possibilities.   Of course everyone has their own routine.  However, no matter what that routine, getting the proper amount of sleep is the back bone to every healthy living regimen.

Leave a Reply

