Surrender to End Suffering

Published May 1, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

green-earth-technology-surrender-small-78669

Surrendering is easy when things are going well.  I often wondered what would happen the minute I hit my first set back in life.  It has been incredibly easy to stay superconcious when things are going so well.  We had a very good 2012 and our 2013 has started off pretty great as well.  I have been savoring the moment, and growing spiritually.  However, somewhere deep inside of me wondered what would happen the first time I hit a real crisis.  Would I be able to see things differently?  Would I be able to react from a more loving place than before?  Quit frankly, I worried a little bit about it until I began to journal about it and found out that I have faced challenges in the past few months, and handled them with a greater amount of grace then ever before.beach-surrender

I have always been a reactor.  I would lose my mind over things, I see now, were pretty insignificant.  God for bid something happen to the car.  It was just all I could take sometimes, car problems plagued me.  However, it didn’t help that  my perception of every situation was “why me, what did I do to deserve this?”  My thoughts would have me crumbling in despair.  I became paranoid, waiting for the next shoe to drop, and of course it would always drop.  It’s apparent to me now that my fears and paranoia were the cause of my “bad luck”.  Things would happen because I was waiting for them to happen.  After all, we do manifest into our lives what we think, and the way I used to think brought me nothing but grief.  I was my own worst enemy.

Slowly, I have been able to take a step back and understand that things don’t happen to us, they happen for us.  Once I surrendered to that belief I was able to tone down the way I reacted to each situation.  Over the past few months as I have become more and more at ease in my life.  I have had car problems, money problems, and stress at work, the difference is, I now sit back, do nothing, and watch the situation play out naturally, flowing from beginning to end without any help from me.  It has changed my life.  Instead of crumbling with despair, I am able to rise up and grow.  I am able to see the good in every situation.

3 comments on “Surrender to End Suffering

  • Leave a Reply

