Success On the Otherside of Frustration?

Published May 4, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

93986294_640How often do we give up right before we are about to be successful?  I wonder this about my own life and of course I am sure I missed my mark by a smidge more than once.  I have heard that success is just on the other side of frustration.  Often times we will spend a considerable amount of time on a project or a plan only to give up just before really making it.

We will have that last final test right before the finish line.  This test is offered by God so He can be sure we are ready for what we are about to accomplish or the new person we are  about to become.  It is just before the finish line that we face the greatest opposition.  I have made a vow to follow through.  I am never going to give up on myself again.  I figure it this way, the only true failure is not trying at all.  We are all human and God expects us to make mistakes.  He expects us to fail a test now and again.  Not only does he expect it but he knows every mistake we will ever make and every test we will pass.  Each test is a graduation to the next.  As long as we take the knowledge from the last test and apply it to the next we are successful.  Knowledge is power, and without failure success is impossible.

Take quitting smoking for instance.  My son wants to quit terribly bad, but has yet to pass the many tests you face when quitting.  First, the feeling of loss.  Like you have lost your best friend.  He can’t seem to find a way through this one, and that is only one of so many.  I know because I smoked for twenty-five years.  Quitting was difficult, but not impossible.  I made mistakes along the way, but I never gave up.  I mean, how could I give up on myself.  I am important to me.  I wanted the best for me.  This was not always the case.  There was a time that my younger self didn’t care whether I was damaging my body or not.  Thankfully, as I got older I gained an appreciation for myself.  I began to actually love myself, have compassion for myself.  Becoming healthy became important to me.

So the next time you are about to give up on something that is important to you, ask yourself:  “If I give up today, am I missing my chance at success?”  “Am I a stones throw from becoming what I long to be?”  Push through each and every test a little better than the one before all the while knowing that God has you in the palm of his hand.  He is the creator of your inspiration and will be the ultimate reason you make it.  Don’t every give up on yourself.  You are a precious gift to the universe.  Treat yourself with love, kindness, and compassion and success is closer than you may think.

 

3 comments on “Success On the Otherside of Frustration?

  • Leave a Reply

