The Differnce Between Religion And Spirituality

Published May 5, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

As I was watching Super Soul Sunday with Don Miguel Ruiz, Oprah asked him if he could easily give his take on the difference between Religion and Spirituality.  His answer was simple.  He said “Everything is Spirit, Religion is a consequence of Spirit.  That small statement hit home for me.  I believe in God and that he is with me everyday.  I draw from his strength.  I spent 6 years in Catholic school, going to church three times a week, and though I loved my school, the nun’s and going to church, I must admit I didn’t understand a lot of it.  I mostly remember learning that most of what I will do or did would be a sin which made me feel like I was never going to be good enough.

As an adult, I am more of a Spiritual being.  I live by the motto, treat people like you would want to be treated.  I make it my responsibility to lift those up around me who may be going through a difficult time.  It is important to me that any encounter I have with someone leaves them feeling uplifted in some way.   I no longer attend church, however I do make it my life’s work to improve daily.  I read books that support growing Spiritually, and living joy filled.  I surround myself with uplifting people, and instead of watch drama TV I watch thought-provoking programs.  Needless to say I spend a considerable amount of time on OWN.  I believe the world needs The Oprah Winfrey network.  God has given Oprah the gift and the means to create a forum to spread beauty and love throughout the world.  While watching a Dvr’d Super Soul Sunday I saw Don Miguel Ruiz.  I was moved by his words, plan to make his book The Four Agreements my next project.  I feel like since the beginning of the year each book that has been presented to me has been a build from the last.

The following books have changed my life in the last four months in this specific order:

Empathy can be a powerful emotion.

Weight Loss for people who feel too much

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book taught me how to separate myself from other people’s emotional upheaval.  It tought me how to feel grounded without the use of food.  It allowed me to find the deepest scars associated with my food addictions and eating disorder, bring them out, feel them, forgive them and let them go.  I highly recommend this book for anyone who is an emotional eater, because what I have found is that if you are an emotional eater you are probably an empathetic eater as well which means, not only do you eat for your own emotions but you also eat for other’s emotions.  It became utterly apparent about a week into the book that my tv watching was a big reason why I was so out of control.  Amazing book!  Don’t miss out on this one.  It will change your life forever.

I Declare 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life

This book taught me how to speak positive words over my life.  Something I have never been good at.  I have always had a merely get by attitude and my self talk was usually pretty negative.  After the 31 days were over I found it much easier to speak beauty and love over my life.  Where as there was a time when I didn’t believe I was deserving of such things, I now know that I am not only deserving but I am entitled to live a prosperous, happy, loving life.  Thank you Joel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the second time reading this one.  It’s an interactive book much like the Weight Loss for people who feel too much.  There is a lot of journaling.  I suspect that I have a least a month or more before I am though the entire thing.  This one has tought me how to clean out the clutter and how to distinguished between subconscious thinking and superconcious thinking.  How to know what thoughts are coming from my intuition and which are coming from prior experiences in my life.  I have learned that in moments of stillness we will know exactly what we need to know, when we need to know it.  That life unfolds divinely just for us.  I have learned what information my mind gives me that I should follow and those that I shouldn’t.  It has been a blast to be able to tune into that area of my mind and to be able to see how everything evolves exactly as it should.

fouragreementsfcvr

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, finally, this will be my next read.  I am looking forward of leaning about Don Miguel’s journey.

4 comments on “The Differnce Between Religion And Spirituality

  • Leave a Reply

