Freedom Writers

Published May 14, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

200px-FreedomdiarybookcoverAre you sad, frustrated, overwhelmed or excited and you just don’t know what to do with all those thoughts rolling through your mind?  Whenever someone tells me they are sad or frustrated with a particular situation my first question is:  “Do you write”?

It’s hard for me to understand why more people don’t write.  Writing has become a saving grace for me.  It has helped me overcome so many different situations in my life.  It’s not enough to just think things through.  A lot of times writing about whatever you are up against will give you a better perspective on the situation.

A few months ago my son wanted me to watch a movie with him.  This movie was called:  “Freedom Writer’s”.  I cannot say enough about how this movie touched me.  I think I started to cry at about ten minutes in and cried all the way to the end.  I wish I could make people see how writing can free a person’s soul.  How it can alleviate the sadness   How it can empower you to want better for yourself.  To have a better life.  To find peace and joy.  It can be as easy as a cheap note book and a smooth writing pen.

So, the next time there is something heavy on your mind, and you want to get it out.  Sit down in a nice quiet place and start writing.  Don’t worry about  what to write about.  Amazingly enough once the pen starts you will be amazed at all that comes out.

girl-writing

Leave a Reply

