Don’t Take This Personally

Published June 14, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Don't take things personally

Have you ever had someone say something to you that stuck with you for hours?  There was a time in my life when I took everything personally.  Someone I barely knew could make a comment about my weight, or my hair or just about anything and it would stick with me for days.  I pounded their words into my soul.  Thankfully that is no longer the case .  The other day a friend ask me how it is that I am able to “not take things personally”.  She went on to explain her story how a friend had wronged her, and how it made her angry.  This one was an easy one for me.  Once I realized that a persons actions and words were their own, I became detached from them.  They literally have no meaning to me because they are not my actions or words, they belong to someone else.

It makes all the difference in the world

It makes all the difference in the world

A couple of days ago as I was walking to work there was a young couple with two children getting ready to cross the road.  As I walked by them the young father moo’ed at me.  Yes, I said it, a man in the eyes of his children made a mean comment to another human being.  He was teaching his kids that acting like this was acceptable.  I didn’t, for one minute, feel hurt.  I felt bad for the children.  Come on guys, we need to be better role models for our children.  Teach them compassion and love instead of hate.  It was disturbing because I could only imagine the kind of inappropriate things these kids are being subjected to.  If you are so blatant in the street, what was going on behind closed doors?

Anyway, the whole situation lasted about thirty seconds.  It had nothing to do with me.  I was able to continue my walk to work feeling good and looking forward to my day.  This is a huge success.  There was a time I would have cried and been depressed for days.  Ugggg!  Until I realized that I was punishing myself for the bad actions of other people.    Wow that was a light bulb moment.  I am now able to just walk away.  I left the situation right where it happened and moved on with my day.  I know that throughout our lives we are tested by these little “situations”.  I feel pretty good about this one.  I can confidently pat myself on the back.

2 comments on “Don’t Take This Personally

  • Leave a Reply

