Just Do It!!

Published June 17, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

meditation-nature-imagesSo, let me tell you how important meditation is.  Yesterday I got up late and didn’t get a chance to meditate before everyone else started waking up.  There are six of us here, so once everyone starts moving around, finding a place of peace is impossible.  Anyway, I didn’t think to much of it.  I went about my day figuring I would pick up tomorrow where I left off today, no problem.  Everything was going along great.  I was having a productive day, getting prepared for my week ahead, listening to music, cooking and dancing.  Everything was moving along swimmingly until I finished and sat down.  That was it, the steam had left my body and I wanted a treat.  The treat lead to pasta and potato chips.  Now, I don’t do this very often, so I don’t feel guilty or ashamed.  I feel human.  I have learned that guilt and shame will only magnify the problem, therefore, those are two emotions I steer clear of.

That being said by the time bed time rolled around I was feeling sick.  My body is not used to that kind of food anymore.  I started to do a run down of my day to see what happened.  What happened was I didn’t meditate.  This is important for my health and well-being.  I need it.  I know a lot of people who need it.  People who are all twisted up on the inside because of the over working of their mind.  It’s funny though, when I suggest meditation it is these same people who scoff at the idea.  I tell people:  “you can do it in private, no one will ever have to know.  Just try it.  For your own sake.”  I am now more than ever going to push meditation.  Like I have said before.  I am a 45-year-old woman who has tried just about everything to lose weight.  I have tried and failed more times than anyone could know.  My motivation time was about three months at which time I would go right back to my old self.  I am now close to six months living healthy.  I understand more than ever that balance is about being my best every day, mentally, emotional, spiritually and physically.  And there are going to be days that I don’t do so well and that’s ok.  Tomorrow is a new day.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

