Weight….. Does it really matter?

Published June 21, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

12Yesterday I was browsing through the diet blogs and found a lot of them very interesting.  They all seemed to have that one common thread, though.  Weight!  They all talked of how much weight they wanted to lose each week, and how the American Medical Association says you “should” lose x amount of pounds each week.  I chose x as the number of pounds because they all had a different number.  Some said two pounds which is about right, but some said three to five which I find hard to believe.  However I guess I didn’t care enough to research it.  That way of thinking had me pushing three hundred pounds.  I would obsess over the number on the scale, and if it wasn’t what I thought it should be I would eat.  Um yea, that didn’t work very well for me.  It took me years for that light bulb to come on.

Just before Christmas my sister came over and told me how her scale died.  I was like “I wish mine would”.  But anyway we talked, and I decided to give her mine.  Mind you she was probably thinking “sister you need these scales”.  After a little convincing she took the scale, and I haven’t had one in my house since.  At this time I was still eating all kinds of horrible foods heck it was the holidays after all. I did, however, promise myself and God that after the holidays I would pay better attention to my health, and that is what I did.

It was January second I made the change.  I began to eat healthy and move my body.  I don’t know what I weighed at the time, and I don’t care.  Removing that aspect of this journey and making it about self discovery was nothing more than a win for me.  My life has changed immensely.  It was all about improving my quality of life and that I have.  I will continue to do so by practicing my daily mediation, nourishing my body with good healthy food, and staying active.  It is as easy as that.  It’s a no brainer.  I don’t count calories, I don’t starve, and I still eat sweets.  I cannot begin to explain how much better life has become.  I don’t need the scales to tell me what I am doing is working.  I can feel it all over my body.  Even my mind has become more sharp and focused.  I handle crisis with grace something I had none of before.  The benefits are to many to count.

4 comments on “Weight….. Does it really matter?

  • For me, 3lbs a week is about right, IF I am on program. AVERAGE! Not ALWAYS. 🙂 I saw a friend yesterday who managed a storage facility near our now defunct thriftstore and she is a pretty lady but in the last 3-4 months ( in about the time since I last saw her) has lost between 40-50 lbs. WOW! She looks amazing. But you are right. I have lost about 25 lbs without any special effort. At one point it was 35 lbs but I have put back on some since i have not been working at the store that is closed. BUT just doing what is best, is best! So much less stress that way. I also have a man who likes women with meat on their bones. SOOOOOOOOOOOOO, no more KICK it in the butt diets for me. As long as I feel good, that is what matters now. hugs!

  • Leave a Reply

