How Do You Deal with an Overweight Child?

Published July 9, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

fat-child-kid

As a child I was treated differently because I was overweight.  You would think coming from a family with weight problems that there would have been a more accepting attitude but that could not have been further from the truth.  There was zero acceptance and in fact I was made to believe that if I didn’t do something about it that no one would love me.  I have experienced having food slapped from my hand, and being bribed with everything under the sun to lose weight.  Obviously these tactics didn’t work.  At the end of last year I was once again back up to nearly three hundred pounds.  I have lost and gained the same weight more times than I can count.

The reason for all of this is because over the weekend it was brought to my attention that one of my nieces boys is going through something similar to what I did as a child.  I witnessed this eight year old exercise and run to the bathroom to weigh his self.  He was very excited to see the scale move.  I felt bad for him and appauled that he felt he had to do that.  This kind of thing shapes a person.  It does not help a person lose weight by telling him/her that they are fat, or that if you don’t lose weight no one will love them.  This kind of “encouragement” only breaks a person’s spirit.  I know this because I am still dealing with the inner demons of this kind of treatment.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame anyone because I truly believe that they were trying to help.  This person loved me and only wanted the best for me.  I believe that the person that did this to me had to deal with his own demons of being fat.  I also believe this person was trying to save me from the life they were living.  Maybe they felt as though they were less of a person because of their weight problem.  Little did they know that their way of helping actually set me back years.  That’s neither here nor there at this point.  I have turned into a strong, confident woman in spite of all of that.  It did not break me, it only made me stronger.

If you have an overweight child, berating them to lose weight will not work.  You are only damaging them for eternity.  I have over come a lot of what I dealt with.  I know that I am a wonderful person regardless of the amount of weight I carry.  I do know that being over weight is not healthy and it can be a burden on the body, however it doesn’t make me or anyone else less than a person.  I suggest, if you do have an over weight child that buying and preparing healthy foods is very important.  You can also find fun ways to get in exercise without making it about exercise.  I also want to say if your child is over weight maybe you should take a look at your responsibility in that.  After all children will eat what you give them, and they will be active if you are active.  All I can say is love your children.  Love them fat or skinny they deserve that.

6 comments on “How Do You Deal with an Overweight Child?

  • I know well what it is to be that child. Well into my adulthood I was still that child! I am now free of that type of thinking. I now know what it takes to be peaceful within. Thanks for sharing. Namaste

  • Seriously! For the longest time I hated shopping because I had flashbacks of my mom always freaking out if I went up a size. Now I realize that she was acting ridiculous because I was a child and wasn’t obese, just a little pudgy, but it’s definitely left a mark. I always considered myself to be much bigger than I was. Looking back at photos it was not as bad as she made it out to be. Lately I realized this has more to do with her own body issues than mine so I try to ignore the stupid comments.

    • You are so right. I have learned that 100% of what people say has everything to do with them and nothing to do with the person they are directing their fear based emotions on. It has helped me tremendously to not take things personally any more. It’s a great lesson I hope that others learn earlier in life than I. 🙂 We are all beautiful because beauty is a state of mind not a state of physicality.

  • Leave a Reply

