Calling Out my Weekend Warrior

Published July 20, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Weekends are tough when you’re trying to live a healthy lifestyle.  There is just something about the weekend approaching that changes the mind-set.  It kind of sucks to have no problem following healthy boundaries during the week only to have it all turned upside down at four o’clock on Friday.  I know I am not the only one with this issue, however, I do know from reading The Super Brain by Deepak Chopra and Rudolph Tanzi that the more self-awareness I have the better I will be at breaking any unwanted habits.  I also know that if I can create a detachment within this habit by calling it out and recognizing it, I can change it.

I am about half-way through this book and already I have learned so much about myself.  Simply calling out any recurring bad behavior will enable me to successfully put an end to it.  I have struggled with the weekend mind change for, what seems like forever, and have been aware that my biggest trigger to over eat is boredom.  I have always known this about myself, however I have not taken the time to give it a voice before indulging.  Now, before I eat I ask myself:  “why am I eating”?  If the answer is anything other than hunger I take note of it and then I eat.

I am going to do whatever it takes to turn this around.  I know longer want to have mixed feelings when the weekends roll around.  On one hand I am excited to have a couple of days off, but on the other hand I know that I will be struggling to do the right thing.  I no longer want to face the struggle.  I am well aware that if I am struggling I will inevitably fail, therefore it is time to make peace with the weekend warrior that is hiding inside of me.  This counterpart that I am sure is ego driven must be stifled.  She obviously doesn’t have my healthy best interst at heart.    I will be investigating her motives and feelings until I am able to finally put an end to the destructive behavior by being more self-aware.

Leave a Reply

