Individuality=Uniqueness Celebrate it!

Published July 31, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

It occurred to me that the most judgmental person is also the most insecure. I try very hard not to judge others. I mean, I don’t like to be judged myself, and I am certainly not perfect, therefore, I don’t believe I have the right to judge anyone. Up until recently, I would become appalled at those who blatantly chose to judge people, whether it be for the way they dress, their size, or the home they live in. Often times I would call them out on it, trying to make them understand that everyone has the right to live their live’s the way they see fit. Or, I would try to reason that it was causing them unnecessary stress by worrying about what other’s are doing.

Then it hit me. They weren’t doing it to be malicious. They were doing it because they were insecure with themselves. It’s so obvious to me now. I will no longer look at those who judge as bad people. I will look at them for what they are, flawed, just like me.  We are all flawed in some way.  These people have not yet realized that they are perfectly perfect just the way they are, and that they are who they are and that’s OK.  Individuality is what gives us our uniqueness, and my uniqueness is not something I am willing to give up for fear of judgement.

From now on when I witness a judgmental act I will not call them out, but instead I will compliment them. I will find some way to lift them up. This is going to be a challenge and I will have to remind myself that their judgement’s come from a place of hurt not hate.

Leave a Reply

