Spirituality IS Self Awareness

Published August 18, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Thoughts and emotions are not who we are, but rather they are constructed from past experiences.  One of the greatest mistakes we, as human beings, make is believing everything we think and feel.  Becoming self-aware is so important to understand why we think and feel the way we do.  I cannot tell you how many times I discovered I had no reason within the present space and time for feeling a certain way.  I still have feelings that seem to have nothing to support them.  I will become irritable, for instance, without knowing why.  This feeling could have come from a dream for all I know, or maybe it was a feeling I was picking up from someone else, I don’t know.  I just know that when I take it to my journal I find that there is absolutely no real reason for me to be irritated.

For the past several months I have been working on becoming more spiritual which essentially means being more self-aware.  Taking this journey of self discovery has been an extreme eye opener for me.  For so many years of my life I followed every thought and emotion as if they were real, as if they actually had merit without even questioning them.  This way of living was causing me so much harm.  Because I allowed my thoughts and emotions control me, most of all of my actions were self harming.  I thought I was a terrible person, and I treated myself as such.  I believed everything I thought and felt.  Becoming in touch with my consciousness was imperative.  It became apparent to me that the thoughts that were coming and going within my mind were actually formed from past experiences and mostly fueled by ego.  It was an Aha moment when I realized that my thoughts were separate from myself.  That I was actually the observer of my thoughts.  The see’er of my world.

When you can easily take the position of your consciousness you can  tap into the true potential of who you are.  You will easily be guided to your passion, which in turn will allow you live the best possible life, tailored specifically for you.  You will find your authentic self and will feel pure comfort from within.  You will feel peace and joy that can only come from within.  It has been an amazing journey thus far, for me.  I can only hope that my story will inspire someone else to take a look within and discover their own field of possibilities.  To find that we are all made up of pure unconditional love, compassion, and empathy.  We all have the ability to make a difference.

8 comments on “Spirituality IS Self Awareness

  • Every once in a while it is good to empty one’s mind. I believe India has a philosophy where we renew our lives every seven years as a clean sweep. If you look at things are you the same person you were at ten, twenty, thirty or in your case 35. No you have changed, your thoughts are different and things that bugged you are brushed aside as inconsequential. But there are the traces of the past, the memories but they are now in different contexts. Your thoughts grew up and now you can see them better. As you get older, and we all do, you will feel even more refreshed and understand if more.

  • Al Musa’adah
    I can relate to exactly what you are saying. I believe we are all meant to live beautiful lives, but it’s the outside influences / past experiences that we allow to determine our destination. The journey to self awareness and self discovering is always a fantastic one and inspirational!

  • Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp so much about this, like you wrote the book
    in it or something. I feel that you could do with some percent to drive the message house a little
    bit, but instead of that, that is excellent blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  • Leave a Reply

