Ego Identification

Published November 21, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Just after finishing my last post I went to YouTube to resume a video I started yesterday of Wayne Dyer at Wanderlust and it became glaringly apparent that the opinions of others that I allow to get under my skin was actually a reaction from my ego.  The very minute I turned it on he gave a list of the identifications of the ego versus the way of the Tao or the soul.  They went like this:

Ego Identification

A person’s sense of self.  The false self.

  • I am what I have
  • I am what I do
  • I am what other’s think of me
  • Who I am is separate from everyone else
  • I am separate from what is missing in my life
  • I am separate from God

The Tao

(in Chinese philosophy) the absolute principle underlying the universe, combining within itself the principles of yin and yang and signifying the way, or code of behavior, that is in harmony with the natural order. The interpretation of Tao in the Tao-te-Ching developed into the philosophical religion of Taoism.

  • Let go of everything
  • I do nothing and leave nothing undone
  • What you think of me is none of my business
  • We are one
  • There is no place God is not
  • God resides within all of us

So you see, by allowing the opinions of others to bother me I am actually stuck in ego identification.  I feel as though this small piece of awareness may just help me the next time someone does or says something my ego doesn’t like.

2 comments on “Ego Identification

  • If I could separate myself from the things I have, the things I do, and the things I think people think about me I would always be satisfied; well maybe not always. Getting there is the next step. Great list!

  • Leave a Reply

