Putting it into Perspective

Published November 24, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Last night my husbands band donated their time to a dance for the Special Olympics.  It was amazing to see and put life into perspective for me.  These people had more fun than I think I have ever seen people have.  My husband has been playing for forty years and for the twenty-three years we have been together I have been attending his gigs, and I have to say it is like pulling teeth to get people out on the dance floor.  Most people are self-conscious and afraid, well, these people were not.  They danced to every song, they didn’t even leave the dance floor between songs.  They were having such a good time and doing so without a care in the world.  There was not a single thought as to whether someone may be judging them.  They were simply just being.

It made me realize how we all take life for granted.  We as the walking “normal” (and I say that lightly) are never satisfied with ourselves or our lives.  We are constantly trying to be something we are not.  Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could just be, as these people are?  To live life joyously without judgement or condemnation?  How different would our lives be if we were only able to accept ourselves and others?  We could all take a lesson from them and in doing so could change the world.

I know that the whole experience left me feeling a little freer.  I don’t feel as though I have to be anything other than what I am.  I don’t feel as though I have to do anything other than live my life being the best person I can be to myself and others.  I don’t feel as though I am anything other than perfect just the way I am.  From here on out my purpose in life is to live healthy, happy, and whole.  I will be a blessing to people in my life whether it be a passer-by on the street or the family within my home.  I am not living for myself.  I am not out to please only me, and here is the big one, I am not here to lose weight and become a tiny stick figure seeking approval from others.  I am here to be kind to my body and mind so I can be kind to others.  That is it in a nutshell.  God created us exactly as we are, and I for one, am going to honor my body, my mind, and my soul from this day forward.

2 comments on “Putting it into Perspective

  • My beloved eldest sister was born Downs. When she was born her life expectancy was 12 to 15 years, that was in the 1940’s. She is very ill now and we do not expect she will see Christmas. Her cognitive skills are impaired by Alzheimers and Dementia. The loss of our mother was terrible for her, as it was for my father who also suffered from Alzheimers. For my entire life I watched my sister achieve what others said she never would. I also was the reciepent of her kindness and her great heart. It is impossible not to see the greatness of those gifted with unstinting love when you live with them, all of us should be so lucky.

  • Leave a Reply

