Giving Thanks with Eckhart Tolle

Published November 28, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

eckhart-tolleI’m enjoying my morning coffee with Eckhart Tolle.  I couldn’t think of a better way to spend the first, freshest part of my day.  He invokes such peace within me.  I figured I would jot down the little tidbits I get from listening to him this morning.

  • He is speaking of thoughts being like a viral infection of the mind.  How many people live so identified with the ego that they judge immediately.  Judging people, and groups of people which leads to the violence in our world today.  How the habitual self talk we all have that tells us who we are is made up of who we think we are and what people have told us we are over our life time.
  • Without the space the room means nothing.  This is the same analogy of the mind.  Some of us carry so many thoughts that we lose ourselves.   Without the space of the mind means nothing
  • A great spiritual practice is to not label what you are seeing.  Eckhart explains that the best time to practice this is to do it while you are waiting.  We as human beings are always waiting, therefore spending this time seeing what is happening around us without judgments or labels is a wonderful way to grow spiritually.  Simply see it.  It is what it is.
  • The meaning of Zen is alert presence.
  • Our thoughts invoke emotions, therefore if we control our thoughts we control our emotions.
  • When you are able to find inner peace and feel your aliveness you will no longer need stimulus to feel alive.  You can simply start by feeling the aliveness in your hands.  Feel them vibrate and tingle, and then move the alertness to other parts of the body.  This will enable the stream of thinking to slow down without losing consciousness.  This is particularly important to me because I often use food as a stimulus to feel alive.
  • When a situations arises that could be perceived as “bad” will become strengthened by judgments and complaints.  The need to be right will magnify challenges in life and create problems out of them which creates suffering.
  • The egoic mind seems to like the fight to be right, but the body does not.  It creates contractions within which creates illness.

Above are a few meaningful tidbits I felt were worth sharing.  I still have more than half of the video to watch but since it’s Thanksgiving I suppose I had better get off the computer and get to preparing to go to my nieces for dinner.

I hope you all have blessed and Happy Holiday 🙂

4 comments on “Giving Thanks with Eckhart Tolle

  • Leave a Reply

