Combat the Saboteur

Published December 2, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

timthumbYesterday I read a blog on how to handle saboteur’s when trying to get healthy in one way or another.  We all know that when we decided to get healthy and shed the pounds there are always going to be those people who come out of the woodwork to derail our efforts.  Those people with very little self-confidence that can’t stand to see others change for the better.  So, I thought it would be a good time to share with everyone what I did to combat the saboteur’s in my life.

1.  First I made a plan to get healthy.  It was not about the way I looked but more about the lack of energy I had when facing the smallest chores we all face in our daily life.

2.  I set my plan into action without sharing it with anyone, except my husband of course.  I kept my desire to become healthier close to the vest.

3.  When asked to indulge in unhealthy treats I made up excuses as to why I couldn’t do so.  I would Use “My stomach is off today, I just don’t think I can eat that” or I think I might have that virus that’s going around, maybe next time”.  These worked great for a couple of months.  Long enough to get my bearings and make a significant change.

4.  When the weight-loss became apparent and I had to come clean that I had chosen to live a healthy lifestyle, the Saboteur’s came out in full force.  People who have not so much as spent a nickel on me in the past were buying me muffins and cookies.  When this happened I would politely tell them I was not into that sort of thing any longer.  If they insisted with a response such as “oh, come on, one wont hurt”.  I simply tossed it into the trash in front of them so they knew that they were wasting not only their time but their money.  This put a stop to it almost immediately.  LOL

5.  I stood my ground.  When these people would say “you’re no fun anymore” or my favorite “come on live a little”.  I would be sure to tell them that number one, I was not living to make them happy and number two, I was trying to live a little, a little healthier, and that I have never been happier in my life.  I compassionately explained that my happiness no longer resides in sugary treats that could possibly kill me in the long run, that I finally found my way, and I would not be giving it up for anyone.

It has been almost a year, those that love me are still with me and those that never did are long gone.  I don’t feel as though I am missing anything by not having them in my life.  I am more uplifted and happier than ever.  I am no longer a prisoner inside myself.  I get out and enjoy life.  I share my experience with the hopes that someone else can benefit from it.  I want nothing more than to help people like me make the changes necessary to live full, productive lives.

So get out there and take control of your life and those people around you that would love nothing more than to see you fail.  I should mention that I don’t believe people who sabotage are bad people.  I believe they are wounded people who don’t know how to help themselves.  I believe they are people that look to other’s to gauge their own self worth.  In other words, as long as someone else is worse off than them they don’t feel so bad.

It’s your time, now.  You got this!  We are all in this together.  🙂

5 comments on “Combat the Saboteur

  • Leave a Reply

