An Excerpt from an Imperfectly Perfect Girl’s Journal

Published December 7, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks
Thankfully I believe in miracles

Thankfully, I believe in miracles

With the holidays just around the corner I am finding it more and more difficult to resist the sugary treats that seem to be everywhere.  I know that in a few weeks it will all be over and life will go back to normal, however I will not allow myself to just eat whatever and whenever, until then.  I used to be the type of person that would see an event coming up and say to myself; I’ll just eat whatever I want until it is over and then get back on track.  I know that it is that type of thinking that can mean the difference between maintaining my weight and gaining twenty pounds.

No, I will not be doing that this time around.  I will maintain my healthy boundaries as best I can and if I have a slip up, so be it.  I will not live in the rut of the slip ups any longer.  I have learned quite a lot this past year.  I have a few really good tools in my tool bag to combat these types of things now.  However, this is my first Holiday season since making the big change and I am finding it little more difficult than I could have imagined it would be.  I am finding that I am constantly having to remind myself that I am not that girl any longer.

I am no longer a black and white thinker.  I know it is no longer all or nothing, there are gray areas in there too.  I do not want to be the type of person that eats a piece of candy and then says to herself; Oh well, you already screwed up, you may as well eat whatever you want to for the rest of the day.  That kind of thinking doesn’t even make sense, but I used to think that way.  I used to believe that just because I had a few hundred calories of “bad” food that I may as well consume a few thousand.  Wow, when I spell it out like that it leaves me wondering if I were at all mentally sound during those times in my life.

Today will be a great day.  I am going to stay as present as possible.  I am going to make it a point to check in with myself throughout the day today to be sure I am in the “now” all day.  I am going to be mindful of my healthy boundaries and stay busy.  Weekends are particularly tough for me, but I know that I will do just fine.  I am going to cook, clean, dance, and read.  I am going to be sure that I have plenty of things to do since boredom is my biggest trigger to overeat.  I am going to be productive in a fun way today.

I will remember to smile, and love myself all day.  I will remember to tell myself how beautiful and kind I am,  I will remember that I am human and that mistakes are part of life and that I didn’t get this far by being perfect.  I am perfectly imperfect and that is ok with me.  😀

2 comments on “An Excerpt from an Imperfectly Perfect Girl’s Journal

  • Leave a Reply

