Sugar is My Crack Cocaine

Published December 27, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Yesterday I started my sugar cleanse.  I must admit I feel better already.  It’s amazing the toll that too much sugar puts on a person’s body.  The beauty is, once it is successfully out of  my system the cravings will diminish completely.  When I quit smoking the desire for cigarettes simply left me.  I wish for that same thing to happen where sugar is concerned.  I wish to not only, not crave it, but learn to despise it, as well.  It is a killer.  Sugar is unhealthy for all people and as Deepak Chopra put it in his book “What Are You Hungry For?  Sugar should be avoided at all costs.  It is not something that only overweight people should avoid, but all people.2vkzxh11

I am aware of the dangers this stuff does to my body and my soul, for that matter, but I continue to eat it.  There are so many natural ways to get my sweet fix in that it almost seems silly for me to keep going back to it.  I cannot tell you the number of times that I have quit sugar only to return to it at some point.  The thing is once I make it through the couple of weeks it takes to rid it from my system, the cravings will disappear, however, one bite will make the cravings come back stronger than ever.

This substance is like a drug, I tell you, a drug.  It is like heroin or crack cocaine, for God sake, and I am not ashamed to admit that I am an addict where this stuff is concerned.  I have come to realize that as a recovering addict, one bite of this stuff will have me hooked once again.  I have to say NO to sugar.  I have to understand my weakness towards it and steer clear.  Much like an alcoholic must steer clear of booze, I must steer clear of anything that has white, refined sugar in it.

They say knowledge is power, well, I am knowledgeable of all the dangers that lurk around the corner for me if I continue to ingest this white, crystalized substance.  I know that diabetes will be inevitable, as well as heart disease and maintaining this obese figure I have carried around for most of my life.

Sugar will give me the gift of an unhealthy body and mind, how’s that for knowledge.

15 comments on “Sugar is My Crack Cocaine

  • When you mean you are cutting out anything with sugar does that mean anything even from the store that says it has sugar in the label? I’d love to hear more… Cause I am 100% addicted to the crap too. Only when I try to do something about it I cut back my food and not the sugar per say and then I get really hungry and grouchy and then I give in. It is a horrible cycle. 😦

    • I am cutting out most of it. Meaning I try to buy my sauces with as little sugar as possible but other than that I don’t use sugar as a sweetener or anything like that. I guess I am just not eating any junk or sugary treats. Most of my regular food is made fresh at home. No processed. 🙂 I understand how you feel. It’s so hard!! Especially this time of year.

      • Right now as we speak I am looking at two chocolate covered marshmallow santas that are just calling my name. I think I am going to give myself a break until the new year and then cut out any overly sugary snacks and drink water for the most part. I don’t think cutting out all junk and sugary stuff is smart for me as I tend to give in more that way but if I just eat when I am hungry and eat healthier food and not cookies and gummies and stuff it should help. Also maybe limiting it to 1 ice tea a day with dinner. I think thats a good start and it wont kill me. 🙂 Good luck !

  • I have the BIGGEST sweet tooth on earth and I am obsessed with cookies. If a cookie is offered to me, I will eat, or at least I would have. There are so many things, mostly liquids, that I used to refuse to have without adding sugar. Tea and coffee were just a couple, but I’ve learned to do away with adding sugar to any of them. I’m not sure how to go about removing as much sugar from my diet as possible. Any tips?

    Oh, and great post! This has been in the back of my mind for a couple of weeks now. I’m glad a fellow blogger is doing the same. So thank you for putting this out there! 🙂

    • I guess my tips are first to never drink anything sweetened. I only drink water, tea, and coffee and none with sugar. As for the cookies, cakes, and candy, that’s another story all together. It is really hard especially when it is everywhere.

      Now that the holidays are over and all of the treats are behind me I no longer have them readily available. The best thing is once they are out of my system I don’t seem to think about them at all. This seems to take at least a couple of weeks and I can be quite grumpy during this time lol….

      Once I finally get “clean” of coarse there is always someone that will come along and say “oh, come on. One wont hurt” and I almost always give in. However, the truth is one WILL hurt. One means the difference between none and hundreds to me. I have no restraint where sweets are concerned so I simply have to stay away.

      I am only on day two, but I know I can do it. I just have to remember the next time someone eggs me on to eat it to stand my ground and just say no. I have to remember what it does to me.

      I seem to be asking for support and guidance from God quite a lot lately.

      It actually helps more than anyone could know 🙂

      Good luck and let me know how you are doing! We are all in this together.

      • First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to reply with such a thorough answer. I appreciate it. 🙂

        I think what you said in the third paragraph is probably the biggest hurdle of all–saying no to offers. My family and friends love sweets, so I’m always around some, one way or another. Speaking of being surrounded by sweets, I don’t know if people were being extra generous with their treats this year or, if I’ve been oblivious to the amount because I’d eat them as they arrived in previous years.

        Anyway, I’m going to try to cut my sugar intake as much as possible and I’ll be applying your tips. I’ll definitely keep you updated with my progress. Thank you, again, for the tips!

  • I don’t have a huge amount of sugar in my diet. My one and only real weakness is chocolate and even my chocolate intake is not terribly sugar laden. I like the rich dark stuff, 80% Cocca which is heavy on chocolate and light on sugar. I take one square with my night time coffee, I am good.

    Good luck on the cleanse.

  • Leave a Reply

