Sugar is My Crack Cocaine Pt. 2

Published December 28, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I am now on day three of my sugar (and sugar substitute) detox.  I have decided to take the time to document the different things I go through as I cleanse my system of this hideous substance.  Today I have noticed that I am craving like crazy.  I feel like I need to eat everything in sight,and do it all day long.  I have made up some healthy meals and have plenty of fruit and other healthy snacks, none of which have refined sugar in them.  I have allowed myself to go with this uncontrollable need to eat unnecessarily.poison

I know better than to try to resist the urge.  One of the most important lessons I have learned this past year is that resistance leads to persistence, so I am not going there.  I know that this to shall pass.  It is only day three.  I know that in a couple of more days my mind will settle down some.  I know from previous experience that it takes almost two full weeks to really get this out of my system.

Another thing I have noticed is I am very emotional.  I could cry at the drop of a hate.  Not only that, but I am also very grumpy.  Yesterday after work I actually had to give myself a time out.  I spent most of the evening in my room.  I laid in bed, watched TV and read a lot.  Thank goodness for my iPhone which allowed me to keep up on my blog and essentially doubled as a computer for me in my time in solitude.

Finally I have noticed that I am very tired.  My eyes feel saggy and I could sleep at any moment.  I am not as productive as I wanted to be, however, if I remember correctly this is completely to be expected.  Detoxing from sugar is no different from detoxing from drugs, nicotine, or caffeine.  It is hard on the body and equally on the mind, or psyche, if you will.

The next time I give myself permission to go overboard like this I hope that I have the sense to come back to these blog posts.  They wont be hard to find since I began my cleanse the day after Christmas.  I am glad I didn’t wait until New Years day.  Since I got started right away I am looking to be fully clean by around the eighth of January.  I am not exactly counting down the days because I know that each day it will become easier until the cravings for sugar are a thing of the past.

I feel at peace knowing that I will be able to do this.  I know that through meditation practice and positive self talk I will soon have this all behind me.  I also have God on my side.  He has been the most important support system throughout this entire journey.  I completely trust that He will guide me through this.

4 comments on “Sugar is My Crack Cocaine Pt. 2

  • Leave a Reply

