On The Mend

Published December 30, 2013 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

This morning while  meditating I got the idea that I should pay attention to my ego today.  That I should make a game of it by paying close attention to my defense mechanism.  Anytime I feel the need to defend myself or my position I will stop and either say nothing at all, or use the standard “is that so” response.  Then take note of the situation.  Being to closely identified with the ego can be self-defeating.  As Wayne Dyer puts it, the acronym for ego is “edging God out”.  This is not something I care to do, so I will take the time to become more self-aware.

flat,550x550,075,fI also want to get back to using the techniques I learned from Deepak Chopra’s, What Are You Hungry For?  The first and most important technique is to asses my hunger before eating to be sure I am actually hungry for food and not trying to fill a void.  The second technique is to take the time to have short twenty breath meditations throughout the day, counting one on the inhale and two on the exhale and so forth.  A lot of times I eat for reasons other than being hungry, and being that I am now on day five of my sugar cleanse, it’s probably as good a time as any to get back to the basics.

On that note, yesterday was so much better.  My energy returned and I was able to get some dancing in, as well as, some shopping, laundry, and a little work at the office.  Compared to Saturday that’s night and day.  Saturday was extremely difficult, but I allowed myself to just be with it and it passed.  Thank goodness 🙂

Anyway, I am headed out the door to go to Curves.  It’s frigid cold out there but I know that when I am done I will feel amazing, so I will brave the cold.

If you are anywhere up north, bundle up.  We are expecting an arctic blast over the next few days.  It’s a perfect time to stay in whenever possible and enjoy your family.  That is exactly what I intend to do, well with intermittent time spent at the office, of course.

God Bless

One comment on “On The Mend

  • Leave a Reply

