Just Checking In

Published January 10, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Good-Mornig-Teddy-With-Checking-in-It’s Friday yay!  I am taking the day off of Curves.  I have been working myself pretty hard this week.  Tomorrow I plan to go and then doing a Jillian 30-shred in the afternoon through YouTube so my muscles don’t get tight and sore the next time I do her workout at Curves.  I am feeling pretty good lately.  My energy levels are up and I am able to focus and do a better job at work.  I feel more organized and really amazing.  I will chalk all of that up to doing the right things where my health is concerned.  As I know that doing this is not at all about weight-loss, I have to remind myself that my quality of  life has improved dramatically since weighing nearly three hundred pounds.

Unfortunately it is weigh and measure time at Curves.  That is the one aspect of going to a gym I don’t like.  Last year I only weighed myself once and that worked for me.  The scales are a source of anxiety for me.  Even if the numbers are good I would tend to back-slide in the past.  However, being that this has turned into a lifestyle for me I think I will be OK now, especially because I weigh backwards and my coach does my measurements without divulging the information to me.

I hope to one day come to terms with my issue with the scale.  I hope that I can weigh myself without it causing contention in my day.  It shouldn’t matter, but it does.  I guess being overweight all of my life has sort of conditioned me this way.  So, as many of you weigh and measure, I periodically check in with myself asking some very important questions;

  • How do your clothes feel?
  • How is your energy level?
  • How is your mood?
  • Are you up, and happy?
  • Is your mind clear and focused?

If the answers to these questions are positive then I know I am on the right track.  Who needs the scale, anyway?  I know that it is important for me to become a healthy weight at some point, but as long as I am headed in that direction and am reaping the rewards on a daily basis, it shouldn’t matter how long it takes me.  Heck, If I lose two pounds a month it’s better than not losing at all, right?

4 comments on “Just Checking In

  • I have successively taken off ninety pounds and have kept it off for a few years. I do not go to Curves because my wife says I would look strange with curves. I do have a ten pac for abs.

  • Leave a Reply

