The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Published January 13, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

mind-body-soulIt’s Monday again.  I had a fabulous weekend, but I am very glad it’s Monday.  I must have something to do during the day.  I wish I knew exactly what I wanted out of life.  Unfortunately all I know is I want to write and help people.  I don’t exactly know how just yet but I know if I continue to work on myself and learn more and more about myself that one day God will reveal to me what I am supposed to be doing.

It is much more than losing weight and getting fit.  I am working on my mind, body and soul.  I am working on myself from the inside out.  I have come a long way in the past couple of years, but I have a long way to go, as well.  I am just happy that God has given me this chance.  In 2011 life was far from happy.  I was depressed and suicidal but I can see now that all of that had to come to a head in order for me to awaken the way that I did.

Without great suffering I would not have been able to dis-identify with my ego.  I would not have seen the need to separate from the false self that I had created.  I would not have become aware that the story I was telling myself was the reason I was so overweight and so unhappy.  I was the writer of my own misery, and now I am the writer of my own success.  I am unbelievably grateful for each and every moment, the good, the bad and the ugly.  They were all necessary to get me here today.

I am not sure what is in store for me, but I know that I am being guided by the creator of the universe, so I am in good hands.

Today I intend to;

  • Practice assessing my hunger levels before eating
  • Use the breathing techniques outlined in What Are You Hungry For? by Deepak Chopra to combat cravings
  • If a craving should arise and I am not hungry I am going to investigate exactly what I am hungry for and look for ways to fulfill that hunger
  • Use all the above techniques to further my study of self-awareness on my greatest project, me
  • Finally, stay present by checking in on myself regularly
4 comments on “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  • This post is beautiful in its honesty and vulnerability. I applaud you! It takes a brave soul to admit to being hurt, broken, or otherwise. I believe in your ability to succeed and take great inspiration from your own journey, to complete mine.
    Keep up the great work x

  • Leave a Reply

