Happy Birthday, Dad

Published January 16, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

ist2_2051734_happy_birthday_dadToday is my dad’s birthday, so first and foremost I would like to say happy birthday dad.  I have come a long way to achieve the health and happiness you so wanted for me.  I have lost weight and have taken measures to ensure to reduce the risk of getting diabetes.  I know you feared that for me, and I want you to know that, although it took me some time to figure it out on my own, I have.

I have never felt better in my life.  I spend a lot more time with mom.  She misses you terribly but has went on to live a vital, happy life.  Shoot the woman has more of a social life than any of us.  She is the angel of our family and we are grateful for every minute we have with her.  I know you are with God and the rest of the family that has passed and that even though we may be unable to see you, you still walk among us.

I appreciate everything you taught me and the strength that I obviously acquired from you.  I am just like you, dad.  Maybe this is why we would butt heads so much.  I am very much in control of my life these days and am proud of how far I have come.  I want you to know that I understand why we had our differences and I hold no animosity.  In fact, I cherish those moments, as they were what made me the strong woman I am today.

3 comments on “Happy Birthday, Dad

  • Leave a Reply

