Every Day is a New Beginning

Published January 19, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Wow, what a weekend so far.  Yesterday Rog and I were off together.  It was nice, since we work opposite shifts and rarely get to spend the day with one another.  However, we spent the day lazing around eating crappy food, including the dreaded sugar.  You see, my sweet husband loves his sugary treats, and when we spend the day together I find myself loving them right along with him.

When I woke up this morning I was feeling a bit defeated, but of course after a short meditation, I feel much differently about the situation.  We, as human beings are very lucky in that each and every day we are granted with a fresh new start.  Yesterday is dead and gone and I have nothing to feel bad about.  I thoroughly enjoyed my day and if I had it to do over again I wouldn’t change a thing.  We watched movies and ate apple pie.  My darling is a tiny man who doesn’t have to worry about his weight, however, as I often tell him, just because your thin doesn’t mean you shouldn’t watch what your eating.  Unhealthy food will wreak havoc on the thin just as much as it will on the fat.

Anyway, I am back on the wagon today.  I have not successfully made it a full three weeks without sugar at this point and I know until I do I will continue to have this monkey on my back.  I have detoxed before and made it several months without even a craving.  That is what I am looking to do again.  A life clean of white refined sugar and all of the products out there that promote its hold on me.  I know I can do it.  It’s all a mental game of which I intend on winning.20140119-055243.jpg

I have created a new strategy to do it this time.  I am not going to try, I am going to succeed.  It’s not that I should not be eating sugar, it is that I must not be eating sugar.  For me it is as dangerous as any drug out there.  It has terrible side affects and if I continue eating it, will be the reason I end up becoming diabetic.  This disease runs ramp-id through our family, and I don’t want to be one of those that uses medication to control it.  I, myself, have the ability to do the right thing and control this.  I don’t need to spend unnecessary time in the doctor’s office and pocket loads of money to do something I am fully capable of doing myself.

So, starting today I am going to work through this situation.  With the help of Tony Robbins I have devised a strategy to get me there.  I have made a visual aide that is hanging on the pantry in my kitchen.  I have come up with positive mantra’s that will make up the internal auditory portion of my strategy.  I will use meditation to keep my emotions in check, and I will be sure to enjoy sweet treats every day in a more natural way.

I am on my way to success.  Each day I will take the time to remind myself why I am doing this and why it is important.  I will research it and walk away with one new tid-bit each day that I will post on my pantry as to the dangers of ingesting this harmful substance, and finally I will not allow the people around me to enable me.  I will stand strong and know that, though they mean well, they cannot fully understand how detrimental it is that I do this.

6 comments on “Every Day is a New Beginning

  • My husband and I also spent the day together yesterday. We went to one of our favorite restaurants where he got pizza (cheat!) but I didn’t. I ordered baked chicken wings thinking I was being good, but when I looked up the calorie content when I got home, I was floored.

    • Oh well, at least you enjoy them, right? That’s what’s important. Just drink plenty of water today and think loving thoughts and they wont stick. Thankfully the minute our eyes open in the morning we are granted a do over. 😉 I hope you have a lovely day.

  • Leave a Reply

