The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

Published January 25, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

It’s very early and I am up.  Sleeping wasn’t exactly an option so I figured what the heck, I may as well get up and do something.  Being that it is just before four in the morning I don’t have a whole heck of a lot to do besides write.  I have recently started the book on YouTube called The Four Agreements Don Miguel Ruiz.  I suppose I could listen to that for a bit.

My plan for the day is to Take Brandon to work at 7:15 or so and then go to Curves.  After Curves I am going up to have breakfast with mom and then out to buy some workout pants from my mommy for my birthday.  Then it’s home to do the laundry and some puttering around the house.  Since it’s so freaking cold outside I am not planning on going out of the house very much over the weekend.

Boy oh boy, how I miss summer time.  I miss walking the trails and being out in nature.  I miss the connection I felt to all things when Rog and I would quietly creep through the woods hoping to see a glimpse of a chipmunk or a turtle basking in the rays of the son.  Soon, very soon, I must remind myself.  🙂

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rORrTQzDeMI

I spent quite a lot of time with this book this morning and I must say; I feel like a better person for it.  I am going to put these four agreements into effect in my life ASAP.  I am going to move toward personal freedom by being the best I can be.  By honoring God with my life.  These four agreements are simple to understand, but will take some consciousness to institute.  Today I am honoring the four agreements.

  1. Be impeccable with your word-Our words can either destroy a life or save a life.  Our words have the ability to start wars or end them.  It is my promise to choose my words carefully from here on our.  I intend to spread love and joy with my words.
  2. Don’t take anything personally-This agreement has been one I have adopted into my life over the past couple of years.  Once I realized that another persons words and actions had nothing to do with me and everything to do with them I no longer took anything personally.
  3. Do not make assumptions-We cannot possibly know what another person is thinking or feeling.  If I am unclear I will ask questions.  I will not make assumptions any longer.  This agreement essentially feeds off the second agreement to not take anything personally.
  4. Always do your best-This agreement puts the first three agreements into action.  I will do my best at all times and if I am not feeling up to par or that I may have not done so great in this moment, I will simply start again in the next moment.

I have now created the intent to honor God by honoring my own life.  I will honor Him by doing what is right for myself and for those around me.  What an amazing opportunity I have been given by being guided to the audio version of this most amazing life changing book.  I hope that you all take the time to listen.  You will be glad that you did.

Leave a Reply

