Got Purpose? By Tony Robbins

Published February 2, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

This was my class I was guided to take this morning, and I am so glad that I did.  It’s called Got Purpose? By Tony Robbins.  I learned a few things about myself and some of the things I already knew.  First of all I learned why as a little girl I wanted to be a garbage man.  Now, over the years I would tell people this and they would laugh thinking I was crazy, I’ll be honest I thought I was a little crazy myself, but now I get it.  I wanted to be a garbage man because when I was a little girl we had this garbage man whose name was Red, and he was the nicest man.  I always looked forward to garbage day because I knew I would get to see him.  He mad me feel good.  He would talk to all of us kids like we were something special.  He would come around the corner hanging off the back of that garbage truck with a huge smile and a wave.  This man touched my life.  I now understand that I wanted to be a garbage man so that I could touch people’s lives in that way.  I wanted to make people feel special, and as a little girl I equated that with being a garbage man.

Of course when I grew up I decided against collecting garbage as my profession.  Honestly, I didn’t choose my profession because I wanted to touch people’s lives.  I made my choice by what I thought I could do to earn a living.  I can see now that making my choice in that way was a mistake but it got me to where I am today, so I have no regrets.

A few years ago on my way to my meaningless job as a manager I was wondering what was I here for.  I knew that my life had to mean more than working as a manager in a fast food joint.  I hated this job, but I loved my employees.  It was a grueling job that lacked any kind of luster at all.  It took me nearly an hour to get there which left me with a lot of time to think.  I remember the day distinctly.  It was warm outside as I was traveling down a country road in rural North Carolina and just as I was rounding the bend I heard the word blog come into my stream of thoughts.  Now, this was before I even knew what blogging was.  It actually shocked me as if someone had whispered it to me.  I remember thinking, “wow, that was weird” as I continued on to work my twelve-hour shift that thought was pushed aside.

Then on the way home that same little voice reminded me that I had to blog.  It was almost as if it had a sense of urgency to it, so when I got home I hopped on the computer to see what this “blogging” thing was all about.  The next day I created my very first blog.  I think it was called wings4shelly or something like that.  I blogged for a short time and then I quit.  I suppose I just wasn’t ready.  About a year later after moving back to New York I picked it up again, and have been going strong ever since.

When Tony instructed me to turn off the tape and write my purpose down on paper I was not surprised at what came out.  I wrote several statements beginning with; my purpose is, and they all seemed to be basically the same, they went something like this;  My purpose is to be creative with my words to teach others how to create a loving relationship with God and themselves so as to live the richest life possible.  To teach them that they are the author of their own story and that through their thoughts will manifest the best or worst possible life for themselves.  My purpose is to help people understand that we as human beings can either choose suffering or joy.  Finally, it is my purpose to help people understand that as healthy as our body is, is directly correlated to how healthy our mind is.

Now I am in search of any information I can find on the mind/body connection.  If anyone has any good resources on the topic please feel free to pass them along.

Have a beautiful, loving day ♥

Nameste’

After much searching I found my old blog.  Haha here it is; Wings4Shelly As I read the few short entries I made back then I can see that I was at the beginning of the shift in my life.  That was four years ago.  I am amazed at this because I thought I didn’t start the shift until late 2011, but I can see now how I have been slowly evolving over time.

I am also amazed that my very first entry was made on my father’s birthday.  Finding this blog has been such an eye opener.  I have come a long way since then and am so excited as to what my future holds.  I am going to keep on keep’en on.  🙂  I’ll continue to write whether one person or one million people read it because that is what I am meant to do.

Leave a Reply

