Yet Another Challenge while Eating with Awareness

Published February 11, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks
Click image for credits

Click image for credits

I have discovered yet another challenge while eating with awareness, that being, not doing anything else while eating.  This is definitely something new for me.  I am an Olympic multitasker.  I rarely do one thing at a time.  However, I have been getting better at it, and I can see, now, why it is important.  After finishing a meal while only eating, I feel satisfied.  I don’t feel as though I am thinking about what I am going to eat next or that I need seconds.  I guess just being with the experience of eating is enough to keep me satisfied.

My theory on this is, before when I would eat while working, or while watching television I was missing out on the joy of eating, therefore I was seeking out more food soon after because I missed the first experience, this was an extreme eye opener yesterday.  I couldn’t imagine how I would eat at work without working at the same time, but I did it.  I simply shut the work down and backed away.  I sat with my food and at it slowly and enjoyed each and every bite.  I found that I was thinking about my next meal a lot less.  I actually didn’t need two of the snacks I brought in my bag “just in case” I couldn’t make it.

I ended the day just under thirteen hundred calories and felt completely satisfied all day.  Today is my midway mark through my first week’s experimentation process.  I know it takes three full weeks to create a habit, and I feel like this is going to be a good one to push for but for now I am just going to concentrate on my commitment to the first week, I don’t want to get ahead of myself.

Sunday will be the start of a new week for me.  I am so excited to, first of all see how this affects my weight-loss and secondly, see how this affects my overall quality of life.

I just love a good challenge, especially when it is all about improving myself.  I hope you all have a fabulous Tuesday.

Nameste’

2 comments on “Yet Another Challenge while Eating with Awareness

  • Leave a Reply

