Oh, EGO You Tricky Little booger, You

Published March 5, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks
Click for image credits

Click for image credits

This morning as I was going about my morning routine I realized that for the past several weeks I have been stuck in my ego.  I don’t even know how or when it happened but I got sucked right back in again.  Here I am all about being self-aware, and I was completely unaware that each and every thought I have been having lately has been completely judgmental.

I have been judging myself and others which has been causing me all kinds of problems.  First of all I have been judging myself according to the way I look.  I noticed yesterday that I have been silently calling myself fat again, and I have been judging others by assuming they are looking at me like I am fat and unpleasant to look at.  I guess this is a perfect example of how important it is to check in with ourselves every single day.

I am well aware that negative thoughts will only be reinforced and assuming I know what others are thinking will only create unnecessary problems.  I cannot possibly know what other people are thinking, and calling myself fat will only keep me fat.  Wow, what an eye opener.  I guess it’s time to get back to basics.  It’s time to pay attention to my thoughts.  It’s time to correct the judgmental thoughts and behaviors that have creeped back in.

Being self-aware and compassionate is not something we master and move on from.  It is something that has to be practiced daily.  It is something that we all have to pay attention to.  I am going to pay close attention to what I am thinking and feeling all day.  I intend on making is a daily habit to check in with myself to be sure my ego is not taking over.

Whenever you have a choice to be right, or to be kind.  Always choose kind.  ~Wayne Dyer

6 comments on “Oh, EGO You Tricky Little booger, You

  • Great post and great self awareness!! Just realizing that you are coming from that place of ego makes it 100% easier to fix. My favorite Wayne Dyer quote is “Change the way you look at things, and the things you look at change.” Blessings for an awesome month!!!

  • I can relate to this. I’ve been noticing I’ve been judging others alot lately. Then my wise husband reminded me “ALL judgement is self judgement”. And I was once again surrprised at myself! After all I’ve been meditating daily!!!. Progress not perfection..:-).

  • Leave a Reply

