Meditation 101: Back to the Basics

Published March 8, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Starting today I have decided to get a little more serious about meditating.  I have noticed lately that I have been rushing through my sessions and I stopped using soft music as well.  Somewhere along the way I was told that I didn’t need the music to meditate so I took it out.  It’s been several months since doing that and I have noticed that things are just not the same.

Since this month is Self-Awareness month I am getting back to the basics of me.  I am re-evaluating all aspects of my life.  Primarily my thoughts and attitudes.  For several months last year my stream of thoughts were positive and uplifting, however lately I have noticed they have taken on a dull, negative tone.  I guess it is real easy to slip out of higher consciousness and back into our old subconscious view of the world.  After spending several months in touch with spirit and living in high consciousness I must admit there is no place I would rather be.

I am planning to meditate twice a day and thankfully I know that I will feel better after one good session.  Therefore, I am going to go ahead and meditate now and complete the second half of this blog post after I am finished.  I tend to get the best messages from my meditation sessions.  Today I am asking to reaffirm my healthy boundaries, to make the right choices when it come to the health and well-being of my body and the tranquility of my life.

Meditation-In-Session

This mornings session is complete.  What I noticed throughout was that my mind desperately wanted to think about the past and the future.  It went from one random nonsensical thought to the next in the beginning, but the longer I stayed with it and with the use of my mantra the easier it became to quiet those thoughts.  I feel calm and content at this moment.  I feel as though I am on the right trick once again.

I am seeking inner fulfillment.  I believe that as long as I am able to find that fulfillment that all other aspects of my life will fall into place with ease.  Heck, I have witnessed this myself last year for several months I was able to stay with my connection to spirit which inadvertently allowed me to make the right decisions for my health and my life.  I had no worries as life seemed to unfold in my favor.

This is, again, what I am seeking.  I am off now, to do a few things around the house now, then out to get in my daily movement at Curves, then to spend the morning with my beautiful mother.  My most cherished Saturday morning routine.

May you all be blessed today!  Find peace from deep within yourself and compassion for your neighbor.

Nameste’

6 comments on “Meditation 101: Back to the Basics

  • Sometimes one just has to listen to their rapid, nonsensical thoughts and just the awareness of it all, without giving in to where those thoughts will take you, is its own form of meditation. I enjoyed reading your experience today.

  • Leave a Reply

