The Flowering of Human Consciousness

Published March 24, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

Eckhart-Tolle-quoteYesterday on OWN was our first chapter in “A New Earth” with Eckhart and Oprah on Super Soul Sunday, this chapter being The Flowering of Human Consciousness.  It was very inspiring to listen to Eckhart talk of his own awakening and how it made way for the death of his ego.  I, myself, struggle with the identification with ego.  For most of my life I unknowingly listened and followed every thought from my ego as if what I was hearing was truth.  Unfortunately doing this caused many, many bouts of depression which led to obesity and a maddening on the mind.

Thankfully through my own awakening a couple of years ago, I have been able to recognize the conditioned chattering of my ego.  However, I am not so practiced in the field of spirituality that I don’t sometimes find myself being sucked right back in by it.  This class could not have come at a better time for me.  I have been finding myself being pulled down by the natural stresses of daily life, which has created great struggle in the maintenance of my healthy boundaries.  Last year when I was so submerged in the spiritual teachings of Eckhart Tolle and Deepak Chopra, and the beginnings of my meditation practice I was able to maintain my healthy boundaries without even trying, there was no struggle, it was unbelievably effortless.

quotes-every-moment-eckhart-tolle-300x205I simply seemed to make good choices without any struggle at all.  This is where I, again, wish to be.  This week we are to practice being as conscious as possible.  Eckhart gave some really great ways to bring our awareness back to the present moment throughout each day.  First, he suggests simply asking the question; Am I still breathing?  And then pay attention to the inhalation and exhalation of our breath.  Second, he suggest giving our full attention to the everyday menial tasks we all perform, such as, washing our hands, or doing our hair, or any of the normally mundane tasks performed at work.

I am excited to spend some necessary time in the now.  I need it.  I need to quiet my mind once again.  I find myself thinking unnecessarily more often than not lately.  I want nothing more than to accept myself and my life for what it is and enjoy the journey I am on.  I don’t want everything I do to be a means to an end.  I prefer to be a part of the ride, instead and allow the universe and God to guide me to my end.

5 comments on “The Flowering of Human Consciousness

  • Leave a Reply

