Being Present is Quite Entertaining

Published March 25, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

This next chapter; Ego: The Current State of Humanity in the book A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle is all about the content and the structure of the ego.  The more I learn about the ego the more I am able to recognize it within myself.  Yesterday, I realized that as much as I try not to take offense when someone shows me up, proves me wrong, or calls me out on a mistake, I still do it.  I caught myself first thing yesterday morning becoming defensive (internally, of course) when a co-worker seemed to correct me every time I spoke.  I didn’t say anything I just mentally decided not to speak and in doing so it allowed me time to analyze what was happening inside of me.

ego-present-eckharttolle-amyjalapenoI realized almost immediately that my ego had been bruised, that is was not that big of a deal, really.  My ego was making more out of it than it needed to be.  I realized right away that it is OK to be wrong.  I remembered this quote from one of my spiritual teachers, Wayne Dyer that states; if you have a choice to be right, or to be kind, always pick kind.  Therefore, I got over it and moved on with my day without feeling offended or feeling the need to defend my stance on the subject.  I actually felt compassion for the other person, realizing that maybe they had a greater need to be right than I did, and I allowed the situation to pass through me.

The rest of the day went smoothly.  I felt peaceful and joyful for duration of my day.  I guess my ego decided to keep quiet after that because the rest of the day was spent being quite present.  I practiced being present while washing my hands, taking in the smell of the soap and the way the bubbles rolled around my hands.  I practiced being present while doing tasks at work that I would normally find mindless.  I was aware of every key stroke and every number that I entered and found myself entertained by this.  While most days I fight boredom, yesterday, I wasn’t bored at all.

I came home from work and watched an hour of television, cooked my dinner, and ironed my pants, all with the most present attention I think I have ever had.  I didn’t find the need to munch after dinner, nor did I need a bed time snack.  By the time I laid my head on the pillow, I felt a deep sense of peace and contentment.  I slept like a baby.  Today I intend on doing much of the same.  I am going to simply pay attention to the ramblings of my ego and check it when I need to.  I am excited to see what the day holds.

I am now off to the gym to enjoy my much-needed body movement for the day.  I hope you all have a nice day today.  I hear the temperature is going to gradually increase by the end of the week, nature here I come.  ☺

Leave a Reply

