The Ego’s Identification with Form

Published March 27, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I just finished chapter three in A New Earth and I have to say I could almost highlight the entire chapter.  This chapter being all about the identification with form has been such an eye opener for me.

I am not so much identified with things, as I am with my body.  Thankfully Eckhart has given a great technique to break the entanglement with the identification with the outer body.

It is so simple, all that has to been done is to feel the aliveness of the inner body.  First feel it in your hands, then your feet, then gradually throughout you limbs, torso and head, ultimately feeling the aliveness of the entire body.

After doing this only one time I can now sit here while writing and feel it without even trying.  Doing this simply exercise is a great way to not only break the identification between the outer body and the ego but it also strengthens the immune system allowing the body to heal itself, who wouldn’t want that.

I am absolutely excited to sit with Eckhart and Oprah on Sunday while they talk about this chapter.  I have come away with great insight, but I am sure to get even more out of it after hearing what they both have to say about it.

 

6 comments on “The Ego’s Identification with Form

  • Thank you so much for your insightful comments and account of your experience as a result of following “A New Earth”. I greatly respect Tolle, have followed these first two weeks of the series, and have just begun reading the book. To hear your personal remarks adds depth to my own education and to this journey I am starting with the series. I follow your blog and look forward to hearing more from you as you continue on your own path.

  • Leave a Reply

