Just a Little Writer’s Therapy

Published March 30, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

I have to get this off my chest.  I mean, if I can’t rant here, then where?  Have you ever wanted someone to simply understand and respect your point of view, only to have their point of view crammed down your throat?  How hard is it for people to have a mutual respect for differences?  I get that we all can’t agree all of the time.  I completely respect the fact that people will worship the way they see fit, but is it too much to ask to have that same respect and understanding returned?  I actually find myself agreeing or going along to lessen the conflict.  It’s not worth it to me to stand up for what I believe in when what I believe in is simply love, compassion and a respect for differences.

SpiritualityI don’t read the bible, nor do I go to church.  I spent six years in catholic school as a child and I cherish those memories.  I have a wonderful, personal relationship with God but I can’t say with certainty that I believe every story in the bible.  I know how stories go and these have been translated so many times that I cannot be 100% sure that they are true.  Does it really matter if I believe the stories in the bible?  I practice spirituality not religion.  Most of the bible is filled with violence and persecution, while my God is filled with love and compassion.  The two don’t mesh well for me.

I don’t calculate sins or point them out in those around me.  I don’t see people as lesser than I, if they choose to fall in love with someone of the same-sex.  I don’t look down on people who divorce or fall in love with someone outside of their marriage.  Why?  Because it is not my concern.  It is non of my business.  I can’t know the circumstances of their decisions and I don’t need to.  God loves us in spite of our short comings.  He knows every mistake we will make before we make it and we are forgiven in the same way.

Simply being a part of a church and reading the bible is not going to make you better than anyone else.  We are all God’s children.  No one is better than the other.  We are all damaged in our own way and we make our choices based on that damage.  If we are to live a God realized life, shouldn’t we, not only see ourselves in all people but find love for them as well?  Isn’t that what God would want?

I know that people can only give you what they’ve got, and that I should not take it personally if they cannot see my side of things or do not want to but it seems that this happens more in family than it does with strangers or acquaintances.  I wonder why that is?  Why family is not as accepting as we would like.  It makes it difficult.  If I were to be honest here, I would have to say that I worry more about what my family thinks of me than anyone in the world and they judge me the most.

I would love to say that when visiting my family, this subject is off the table, but I can’t.  It is a passion for certain family members, so from now on I will listen and respect their need to express it.  I will save my point of view for you all here.  I have always found it easier to state my thoughts and feelings through words on a page anyway.

I hope you all have a fabulous Sunday.  Be blessed and stay warm.  ☺

 

 

11 comments on “Just a Little Writer’s Therapy

  • Happens all the time. I am a man of compromise and usually will take the easy way out. I will agree and then do what I think best. Am I a hypocrite or a con artist. I do not know. But how is a con in art. Is it a phony art piece? I blogged today on love and would love your input. Thanks, Barry

  • I understand exactly what you’re going through!! I mean honestly I DO!! 😉 It is definitely frustrating to be fine and understanding of another persons opinion but when you give yours…it’s put down, etc. I’m also better at expressing my feelings through writing. Keep your head up and know that I love everything you write and think you’re such a wonderful person!!

  • Well put! My belief system and experiences largely parallel your own. I am surrounded by “Godly” folk who freely tout their religion, dis my beliefs, and try to get me to ‘convert’. These doomsayers even go so far as to readily tell me of my impending ruination if I don’t, all in their so-called spirit of love. Really? Often I do just listen but after so many years of it that, more often than not I join the conversation presenting my thoughts as just that: MY thoughts and observations. Why is it so much more acceptable for these adamantly self-righteous people to spew their dogma while the rest of us must either agree or keep our mouths clamped shut? Generally I don’t care what others espouse nor do I criticize, judge, or try to change their minds. I would simply appreciate the same respect.

    • Oh, how I agree with every word. Ya know, after writing that blog post, I walked away thinking. Wow, I think that blog was all about my ego’s need to be heard. LOL… Eckhart is amazing. He is opening me up to the awareness of my ego and I just love it.

      Some how once I realized it was my ego it didn’t seem to matter that much. I am simply going to live my life the way I have been and allow those to do the same. A big part of our life lesson is to live with the deeply unconscious without feeling inferior or superior, so that is what I am going to do.

      I will simply be conscious with them and love them. I have no need to defend any longer. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

