Being a Part of the Ripple Effect

Published March 31, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks
PIFT-Shirt

Click image for credit

After posting yesterdays blog Just a Little Writer’s Therapy it became glaringly apparent that the entire blog was written from my ego’s perspective.  My ego was hurt because it was unable to get its point across during a conversation with family about, wait for it….. religion.  I was obviously asking something from someone, that they were unable to give.  I do know, however, that I wasn’t trying to be superior in my opinions, I was only trying to gain a mutual sense of respect for our differences.

After watching Super Soul Sunday with Eckhart and Oprah yesterday, I realized that we can only take responsibility for our own awakening our own level of consciousness.  If we can be present with people who seem to be, in our opinion, deeply unconscious, and living in the grips of the ego, we can help them find a small crack to let the light in which, in turn, can start their own awakening process.  That’s it, simply being present will bring out the presents in someone else.

I am so new to all of this, but I truly believe that each and every one of us can help someone else awaken through our own awakening.  In our own transformation, we may be able to bring about a transformation in those around us, kind of like the ripple effect when dropping a pebble into a stream.  I can only say that I am happy with the way I handled the situation because I did not force my thoughts on anyone.  It is not weakness to walk away.  It is actually the ego’s need to defend, therefore, by not doing so, I was able to operate more from a state of consciousness.

I do not have to make other’s think the way that I think, I only have to respect the diverseness of the world and listen with consciousness.  It is in this way that I will be able to contribute the greater good of humanity.  I don’t know for certain what my purpose in my life is, I can only say that I feel strongly that learning and growing into the best person I can be and in turn sharing my lessons through the written word has to be part of it, because It is in doing so that I feel most alive.

May you all have a blessed day and  be a blessing to others.

 

 

5 comments on “Being a Part of the Ripple Effect

  • SO true and great!!! I always note what Bryan Kest says…how people treat people is their karma, but how you respond to their treatment of you is yours. Even if someone is being frustrating, we don’t have to respond to them with negativity.

  • Leave a Reply

