Food; My Drug of Choice

Published April 7, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

lessons-in-life_3121009It’s Monday morning.  I am up, enjoying the peace and tranquility of my home.  Everyone else is sleeping.  This is my time.  People often ask how I can go to bed so early and get up so early.  If they only knew how wonderful it is they would, too, do the same.  The weekend was rough.  I am glad that it is over.  I have learned that I don’t handle stress well.  I am not unlike the drug addict or the alcoholic in that I feed life’s stresses with things, only, my drug of choice is food.

I know that self-awareness is the key to change, therefore, I must be close to changing this, because, I, not only know that I am doing it, but announce it to those around me.  Yesterday while trying to eat away the stress of car problems, I was sure to tell everyone, that I know I have a problem, that my body doesn’t even want what I am eating, that I am doing it simply to appease my mind.

I am one to view all of life’s challenges as lessons, and I know that this is certainly one of them.  I eat when I am stressed out and it doesn’t make my problems go away or make them any better.  I know that the chances of me living a life without situations that cause stress is just not going to happen, unless I turn into a care bear and live my life in the land of glitter and unicorns.  So, I am at an impasse, you might say.  I know what I am doing is not working, therefore, do I continue to do it, or find a better, more constructive way to deal with my stress?

I have to hope that since I am consciously doing it, I must be close to stopping it.  Right?  I am praying so because it’s beginning to become very discouraging, to say the least.  I am thankful that God grants us a clean fresh start every single day.  I know that the minute my eyes open I have the opportunity to make things right.  And I also know that as long as I try, I am I can’t lose.  God helps those who help themselves, so as long as I continue to help myself, I believe that God will bless me with the answers to, finally put this test to rest.

7 comments on “Food; My Drug of Choice

  • Compulsion and presence cannot exist simultaneously. You are definitely on the right track by being aware of why you are eating, now you just have to take a step back and allow the anger/frustration/excitement or whatever is it you’re feeling completely take hold you and the desire to eat will pass. I find talking at length and crying get me through almost every emotion (wish I could skip the crying part!!)

    I’m so glad that you wrote this post. It helps people like me relate and understand that I’m not the only one who feels tested at times. I was faced with a very similar situation on Sunday where I felt too challenged and my compulsive nature took over but like you said, every day is a new day and I believe this won’t be too much of an issue for you if you persist 🙂

    • Thank you. That’s the best thing about this community. There are always people that you can relate. I view everything as a lesson I believe that one day I will get there and it will be a thing of the past. I know I have more to learn, so I will just continue learning till I get it right. Thank you so much for your comment and understanding.

  • Leave a Reply

