I Have Been Given a Gift

Published May 5, 2014 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

As I sit and listen to Oprah and Eckhart go over Chapter 7 in A New Earth I realize this chapter was a life changer for me about a year ago.  Without even realizing what I was doing, I began applying this principle to my life.  I learned to feel my emotions and explore them without judgement.  When a challenging situation would arise my emotions would dart through my sacral chakra up into the solar plexus almost simultaneously.  It felt like an electrical shock, a rush of energy that surged from those areas then throughout my entire body at such a rate of speed, it seemed to take me along for the ride whether I wanted to go or not.

imagesI instantly felt doom, like my world, as I knew it, was crumbling.  I remember literally curling up in a ball, almost paralyzed with fear when something unexpected would happen, something I labeled as bad.  It could have been as small as car troubles and often was.  Then at the beginning of 2013 I was introduced to a book called The Weight-loss Program for People Who Feel to Much.  I actually remember saying a prayer asking God to give me the resources I needed to save my life.

Immediately after that prayer I logged into Amazon and this book was right in front of me, front and center.  I knew at the time that it was no accident, this book seemed to be calling out to me, so I purchased it right then, and there.  Needless to say it changed my life, not only by reading it, Colette taught me how to write as a form of therapy.  Colette Baron-Reid taught me how to explore my emotions on a deeper level, she taught me how to recognize that my emotions were in control of me, rather than I, of them.  Over the course of a few months I had made immeasurable changes as far as being in control of my reactions to life’s “little” curve balls.  In fact I began seeing life differently all together.

This seemingly tiny little thing has afforded me a sense of peace that is worth millions.  I learned to surrender to what is.  And by doing so I learned to see the best possible solutions to life’s event.  These solutions would come forward like mini miracles.  The simple act of surrender allows the universe to work it’s magic in my favor.  My greatest lesson from this is that,  I do not have the answers.  I cannot possibly create the best outcome to any situation.  In fact the more I get involved the worse the situation seemed to become.  I know this to be true, because I have been practicing it for more than a year now and although I am not perfect, I have not had an emotion take me for a ride in a very long time, and life has become effortless and joyful.  It is the ultimate freedom.

mM-JZX2bsV7fS_woWKQWxZgRecently I was given a book.  This book is also written by Colette.  My sister gifted me the book Remembering the Future.  I had the book for a few days without paying much attention to it.  My son put it on my dresser and there it sat until one day as I was passing by I picked it up to investigate.  The minute I realized the book was written by Colette I knew that this book was passed on to me for a reason.  I couldn’t believe it.  I began reading it right away. I am very excited at the possibilities this book represents.

I will read it from cover to cover and do all of the exercises.  I can feel the importance of this book from deep within my core.  I know that I am going to learn a lot and in turn become more and more at peace.  I have been asking God to help me  and support me in my quest to be healthy and whole from the inside out, and again, I believe He has.  This book is a gift from the cosmos delivered by way of my sister.

How perfect! ♥

 

Leave a Reply

