What Does it Mean to Wake Up?

Published April 11, 2015 by Stuff My Brain Thinks

What does waking up mean?  Waking up means to  be aware of the observer within you.  When we awaken we can see a clear separation between our thoughts the one who is observing those thoughts.  The awareness behind those thoughts is our soul.  It is our inner genius.  It is in this place that all things are possible.

quote-what-a-liberation-to-realize-that-the-voice-in-my-head-is-not-who-i-am-who-am-i-then-the-one-who-eckhart-tolle-273186We are only limited in our beliefs of ourselves, but the truth is we are without limitations.  It is when we come in connect with the all-knowing part of ourselves that infinite possibilities arise.  We are not limited by education, intelligence or creativity.  We are limited only by what we think we can or cannot achieve.  We are limited only by what we tell ourselves.

Even though most awakenings happen during times of despair and suffering, we don’t have to wait for circumstances like those to align to wake up.  You can do this simply by meditating.  Start out with ten minutes a day, first thing in the morning.  The purpose of meditating is to stretch the space between the thoughts.  It is not to stop the thoughts completely which is impossible.

Some people find it hard to get into the grove of meditating.  I personally do not function at my highest level without a daily meditation practice.  I find it is easy to get sucked back into the drama of every day life without my daily meditation practice.  Meditation helps to keep us in that space of all-knowing, it helps to ground us and it brings about a state of such peace.

Don’t take my word for it.  Take ten minutes a day and clear your mind.  Start in the shower if a formal mediation session is too much for you right now.  Simply take your shower and pay attention the way the water feels as it runs down your body.  Pay attention the smell of the steam and the feel of the soap as it lathers up between your fingers.

Use a mantra if you need to.  A mantra will help you to come back to the present moment when the thoughts float in and they will float in.  We cannot stop the thoughts, only slow them down.  A mantra can be something as simple as So Hum, or I Am.  Once you choose the mantra that best suits you, take a slow deep breath in, silently repeating the first word and exhale on the second.  For example inhale on So and exhale on Hum, repeating this for as long as you feel comfortable.25296_1358241557.5086

Once you become comfortable with that, maybe add a couple of minutes a week until you reach twenty minutes a day.  I know that many people have a block against mediation, if that is you, then you can do several one minute meditations throughout the day.  I like to do this when I use the restroom.  I find it easier to remember to practice my mindful, minute meditations if I link it up with something I do more than once throughout the day.

So there you have it folks.  That is what waking up means to me.  Please feel free to stop by my Facebook page, Waking Up in Northern NY.  I am hoping to get some dialogue going on the subject.  It is a subject that is near and dear to me.  I am looking forward to growing and expanding through the collaboration I get from you brilliant people.  So stop by and say hello.  I am looking forward to meeting you.

With much Love and Light

Michele

Leave a Reply

